Thursday, November 9, 2017

Boating Under the Influence inTampa Bay BUI Defense

Tampa Bay Criminal Defense Attorney

Boating Under Influence in Tampa Bay, Florida

If you are arrested and charged with a BUI in Pinellas County, FL or in Tampa Bay it will be most beneficial for you to hire a Tampa Bay BUI defense lawyer to represent you. BUI charges and penalties and the laws regarding boating under the influence are very different than Florida DUI laws and penalties.

If you are arrested on a BUI in Florida, here are some things to remember:
  • Probable Cause and BUI's - In Florida, it is not required for authorities to have probable cause to pull you over on the waterways. Unlike a DUI where probable cause or suspicion is enough reason to stop you then charge and arrest you for a DUI. Additionally, once authorities board your vessel, they can request a variety of documentation regarding your vessel. During this time they can use this opportunity to look for signs of intoxication, alcohol or other controlled substances. 
  • Vessel Operator - In Florida, you can be charged with a BUI if it has been determined you are an "operator of the vessel." This means, you can be charged even if you were not driving the boat. See  F.S. 327.02(27)(33) for information. 
  • BUI Blood Alcohol Florida - You can be charged with a BUI in Florida if you are under 21 and have a blood-alcohol content of 0.02 percent or over 21 with a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood; or a breath-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath.

Penalties for a First Time BUI in Florida

Penalties for a first time BUI are tough, therefore it is beneficial to hire the best Pinellas County Florida BUI defense attorney as soon as possible, preferably before your first appearance BUI bond hearing.

Read more: Tampa Bay DUI/BUI defense and penalties
Hiring a BUI defense attorney in Pinellas Park, Clearwater, St. Petersburg or Tampa Bay.

Penalties for Subsequent BUI Charges in Florida

If you have been charged a second time for BUI and within five years of a prior conviction the courts must order jail time of "not less than" 10 days. Probation and stiff fines for 2nd offense BUI's are costly. A person charged with a 3rd offense BUI will face third degree felony charges. Read more - Penalties for 2nd and 3rd offense BUI in Florida. If you have been charged with BUI manslaughter you will need to hire an experienced BUI and criminal defense trial lawyer to represent you. 

Why Hire a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Tampa Bay if You've Been Charged With a BUI or DUI

Arresting authorities on Tampa Bay waterways can be local or Federal authorities. This means your BUI case could be prosecuted as a federal case. Either way, you will need a criminal defense attorney who is experienced in representing boaters who have been charged with BUI's. Additional criminal charges can often accompany a BUI charge so it is important that you discuss your case with a lawyer. But DUI's are also serious and carry tough penalties and fines. If you've been arrested and charged with a DUI or BUI call BUI /DUI defense attorneys in Pinellas County, Joseph Uccello and Kelly McCabe before entering a plea. Let us fight your BUI charges and protect your rights according to Florida Law.

BUI Defense Attorneys Pinellas County & Tampa Bay
We are Tampa Bay criminal defense attorneys located in Pinellas County, Florida and represent clients who have been charged with crimes like BUI or you need a DUI lawyer in Pinellas County, we work in Pinellas, Hillsborough County, Pasco County and Manatee, FL and throughout Tampa Bay.